Home Link Site Map Link
City of Charlottetown City of Charlottetown City of Charlottetown City of Charlottetown City of Charlottetown City of Charlottetown
City Hall Link Visiting Charlottetown Link Living in Charlottetown Link Doing Business Link Contact Us Link How Do I? Link

News List

2017-11-08 - Charlottetown Honours Veterans at Awards Ceremony

Click to enlarge
Photo credit: John Morris/LensMakeAPicture.com

The City of Charlottetown honoured 14 people for their military service during the 2017 Veterans Recognition Awards presented during an evening ceremony on Tuesday, November 7 at the Rodd Charlottetown Hotel.

The Veterans Recognition Awards were initiated in 2005 to mark The Year of The Veteran. Since then, the City of Charlottetown has continued to honour veterans each year with the private recognition ceremony.

"For more than a decade, we have held this event to honour those who have served or are currently serving our country," said Charlottetown Mayor Clifford Lee. "We want to thank everyone who took the time to nominate a veteran in our community over the years, and we especially want to thank all of the brave men and women who have made such an important commitment to this great nation. Our veterans are the reason we are able to live in a peaceful, democratic society and this event gives us an opportunity to publicly demonstrate our gratitude."

Those eligible for nomination include men and women who served in the Armed Forces of Canada during the Second World War, the Korean War, a Special Duty Area (Peacekeeping), War in Afghanistan or in Canada in the Regular Force or Reserves.

The 2017 recipients are:

Ordinary Seaman W.E. (Bill) Smith;
Private Eugene MacNeill;
Leading Seaman Adam Gary Arsenault;
Leading Seaman Amber Gaudette;
Leading Seaman Spencer Lee;
Petty Officer Second Class Sarah Doyle;
Sergeant Scott MacDonald;
Second Lieutenant James Reed Jones;
Lieutenant Andrew Dunford;
Captain Jennifer Arsenault;
Captain Christopher Michaud;
Major Jean-Paul Pendergast;
Chief Warrant Officer William Crabb; and,
Captain (N) Alex Grant.

For more information on how to nominate a veteran, contact: 902-566-5548.

Media contact:

Jennifer Gavin
Communications Officer
City of Charlottetown


Sunday, Feb 18, 2018
Download Adobe Reader Free Link

Home • News